Unit 10: Online Course Review

Overall this semester, I have enjoyed taking Emergent Media in Mass Communications as an online course. I think it is important that emergent media and media literacy are interpreted for ourselves, and a lecture class would not have given the freedom to do that as much.

I also enjoy the fact that I can do all my assignments right when they are posted, or have the freedom to wait until the very last minute to finish everything (this happened more times than not).

I think the best part about this class for me was the textbook. I really loved the reading materials and W. James Potter wrote the easiest-to-read textbook I’ve ever studied with. And, if I struggled with focusing on the reading, I could read the PowerPoint slides and watch the instructional videos instead.

Blogging has been an interesting supplement to this online course. I have one other class where we use blogging as a medium for doing assignments. I don’t necessarily think I will keep up this blog after these classes are done. In fact, I will probably delete this blog. However it is nice to know how to use WordPress, because I’m sure I will probably need to know how to use it in the future. I do understand how a professional journalist could use a blog, but I don’t think it’s the way for me to go.

One thing I didn’t like about this course was that the online instructional videos were hard to view sometimes. I could watch about 10 seconds at a time, and it would buffer for another 10 in between. I know that it was due to my internet connection, but it was a big inconvenience. One other thing I would suggest is to space out the assignments more. Some weeks we only had a quiz and other weeks there were five to six assignments. It can be pretty hard to complete six assignments in one week, especially when that’s only one class, and I have four others.

Other than that, I enjoyed the course overall.

10/10 would recommend.

Leave a Reply

